Rivalry Saturday: Vinton-Shellsburg vs. Marion

12:45 p.m. – We’re 12 minutes from tipoff of Game 2 at Rivalry Saturday. Marion (11-1, 7-0) is ranked No. 4 in Class 3A and threatening to run away with the Wamac West. Vinton-Shellsburg (8-6, 3-5) is struggling but always brings its A-plus game for Marion.

12:54 p.m. – Scot Moenck: Attendance is way up from last year.

12:59 p.m. – Intros and tip.

1:04 p.m. – Good vocal crowd for Vinton. Vikettes up 4-2.

1:07 p.m. – Fish. Swish. For three.

1:10 p.m. – Back to back hoops for Allison Emrich. Vikettes lead 12-6.

1:12 p.m. – Fish. Swish. For three.

1:15 p.m. – That’s three times three for Brittany Fish. Tied at 14-14 after one.

1:16 p.m. – A little Journey for music during the break.

1:23 p.m. – Trading baskets, back and forth … Marion 22-20 3:40 2nd.

1:27 p.m. – Gene Klinge sighting.

1:33 p.m. – Back to back buckets by Morgan Paige, then Allison Emrich hits 1 of 2 FTs. Marion 26-25 at half.

1:34 p.m. – Halftime entertainment: Marion vs. Vinton fifth-grade girls.

1:43 p.m. – Emrich and Fish have nine points apiece for their respective teams.

1:47 p.m. – Trading baskets, trading leads … Rinehart, top of the key … Marion leads 32-29.

1:51 p.m. – Marion students’ “Air-ball” chant growing tiresome. TV timeout … 36-31, Marion. Morgan Paige is starting to take over.

1:53 p.m. – Fish. Swish. From three. Marion by 8.

1:56 p.m. – Alli O’Neill scores on a putback and the lead is double digits.

1:58 p.m. – Vinton-Shellsburg scoreless through the last 4:46 of the quarter … Marion’s up 42-31.

2:02 p.m. – Jan Jensen sighting.

2:05 p.m. – Three minutes, no points, in fourth quarter.

2:09 p.m. – This game’s lost its flow. No Vikette field goals since 6:30 mark of 3rd quarter … that’s a drought of almost 12 minutes. Marion, 46-33, 2:42 to go.

2:13 p.m. – Paige score and foul. Final nail, meet coffin.

2:15 p.m. – It’s a final: Marion 50, Vinton-Shellsburg 35.

19 Responses to “Rivalry Saturday: Vinton-Shellsburg vs. Marion”

  1. Rivalry Saturday: Vinton-Shellsburg vs. Marion | IowaPrepSports.com Says:

    [...] Read full article [...]

  2. HammerTime Says:

    Just wondering if the Marion girls came in early and shot, as their boys did last week?!! I agree the air ball chant was tiresome (understatement of the century)!! Fun game to watch though, at least in the first half.
    Marion is not that good!!! Anyone who shoots 55% for threes and 50% FG is bound to win, especially if the team they are playing is shooting as poor as Vinton-Shellsburg did. Again, I wonder if Marion came in early to shoot?!?! By the way if these two teams shoot their season averages Vinton-Shellsburg wins!! If they didn’t get a shoot around then I give credit where credit is due!! Fun game too bad it was soured by some lame fans (Marion Boys Basketball Team)!! Where was Marions AD or Superintendent or whoever put on this great event to put a stop to those fools?!

  3. jtlinder Says:

    I doubt they had any sort of shootaround … don’t know when they would have had an opportunity. They weren’t the first game, so I’m guessing the 12-15 minutes before the game would’ve been their only opportunity.

  4. HammerTime Says:

    Possibly, I guess they were just shootin way above what they normally do. Sort of like the boys last week. If they are going there early as the boys did, then it sort of puts a huge black eye on this event doesnt it?!? I hope to find out the truth to this.

  5. jtlinder Says:

    I got there at 10:30. They weren’t shooting in the time I was there.

  6. HammerTime Says:

    Well that means they weren’t shooting then, which would make sense as the first game was gettin ready to go. I guess we may never know for sure. Don’t you feel that something should have been done or said to the Marion Boys with their irritating chants??

  7. jtlinder Says:

    I don’t know what can be done unless someone from Marion does it. Best way to shut up unruly fans is to beat the team they’re cheering for.

  8. HammerTime Says:

    I couldn’t agree more on both counts however NOBODY from Marion did anything. And it seemed obvious that they were fine with the boys actions. As far as beating the team they are cheering for that only shuts them up after the fact. Granted if VS had shot better maybe it wouldn’t have gotten so out of hand and then they would have shut up. But quite honestly I don’t think it would have shut them up.
    You were there, do you honestly think, that aside from someone with authority telling them to knock it off, they would have shut up?
    Keep up the good work and reporting!

  9. Josh Says:

    Hammertime…

    I was at the game and was also irritated at the fans, HOWEVER

    If the VS parents had not chanted back at the marion fans, I doubt they would have continued the entire game…

    Parents yelling at the student chants is just adding fuel to the fire…

    The Better team won here and if shots had fallen for Marion in the first half, the margin could have been much worse

  10. Rick Says:

    Nothing fall in the 1st half? 4 3′s in the 1st half is not shooting well? No class in Marion fans and administrators should of stepped in from Marion and controlled it. Bottom Line!

  11. Josh Says:

    Yes, nothing fell in the first half..

    Many blown layups, not necessarily 3′s, but many blown layups and 2′s…

    And I will stick to what I was saying before, yes the chanting was bad from the “students” dont say fans because it wasnt….

    If the PARENTS from the VS side had not yelled at the students from the beginning chanting things like moron, then they would not have continued into the second half…PERIOD

  12. HammerTime Says:

    Josh I would have to say you are a little wet behind the ears. I can speak from a personal viewpoint here. I was there, it was my daughter that the majority of the chants were directed at and it was totally inappropriate. You know what it continued on the following Monday via text messages! Marions AD was alerted and took action, action that probably should have been taken at the game. I could have done something at the game but thought that someone from Marion would stop it, boy was I wrong. A little chanting is or has become acceptable this was far beyond that. Also if you look at the stats I listed above you should be able to see that Marion shot the lights out!! VS did not difference in the game.

  13. jtlinder Says:

    I watched the first half of the replay late last night … heard the chants on TV too. It was annoying, yes … but was it vulgar? I didn’t hear any cussing (not that it makes the chanting right), though I have to admit my eyes and ears were on the action for the most part.

    Why and how was your daughter getting text messages from Marion students Monday?

  14. HammerTime Says:

    Because they took her friend’s(from Marion) phone yesterday at school and got her number. Thats the how, they knew she was friends with a player for Marion. Why, you tell me? Maybe because they are not too bright!! Maybe because they are just stupid teenagers, I don’t know. Maybe it was their way of getting her attention cause they liked her, wrong answer!! Who knows. I do know that Marions AD handled it immediately after I contacted him and I commend him for that, however I still feel it should have been handled Saturday. I don’t know that anyone felt or said there was vulgarity involved. My kid has had airballs before and handled it, no big deal, she’s tough!! Hopefully these young men will have learned their lesson, I believe she received a phone call apologizing from at least one of the kids. Anyhow off to more BBall!!

  15. HammerTime Says:

    PS You need to fix the time stamp on this thing, its rather confusing!!

  16. jtlinder Says:

    Ah, the benefits of technology. I’ll let my kids have cell phones when they’re oh, say, 35.

    Can’t do anything about the time stamp thing…I just remember to subtract six hours.

  17. HammerTime Says:

    Dude, I got more things to have to think about then having to subtract six hours!!! By the way I think we are gonna “upset W’burg” tonight!

  18. HammerTime Says:

    Also I do agree with you bout VS having a good following and know that everyone enjoyed the oppurtunity playing and watching the girls play at the cell. And we only lose one starter next year to graduation! So put in a good word for us!!

  19. VSFAN Says:

    I am glad the AD at Marion did something about the chanting. I have a son who plays for VS Boys Basketball & we went to support the girls team & I was totally annoyed at the chanting as I wanted to enjoy the game. I can see saying something at the initial shot (all kids will do that),, but to keep that up the whole game & everytime she handled the ball was uncalled for.. they were over there high fiving each other & laughing & they were saying other things too… I was that close I could hear them. I think its time we bring some manners back & I am talking about all teams just not Marion. It was too bad as it ruined a perfectly good game I had to pay 6.00 to get into & 5,00 to park!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

