INA all-state boys basketball 2009

DES MOINES — The question was posed to Coach Brad Randall in the moments following Solon’s win over Pella Christian in the Class 2A state championship game.

Something about Matt Morrison being a quarterback who also happened to play point guard.

“I prefer to think of him as a point guard who also happens to play quarterback,” Randall quipped.

Point guard. Quarterback. Morrison just wins, baby.

The captain of the all-tournament team after Solon wrapped up a 28-0 season, Morrison joins teammate Tucker Wentzien on the Iowa Newspaper Association 2A boys’ basketball all-state first team.

Sportswriters selected the teams Saturday.

Other Gazette-area first-team picks are Zach Bohannon of Linn-Mar (4A), Amry Shelby of Marion (3A) and Jesse Ney of Iowa Mennonite and Tyler Wedemeier of West Central (1A).

University of Iowa signee Brennan Cougill of 3A champion Sioux City Heelan is Mr. Iowa Basketball 2009. A 6-foot-9 center, Cougill posted 17.8 points and 13.7 rebounds per game as the Crusaders finished 25-2.

Morrison is the common denominator behind Solon’s historical year in boys’ athletics. The Spartans became the first 2A school to sweep the football and basketball titles in one school year.

“It’s just awesome,” Morrison said Saturday. “Basketball is my main sport, and to reach the top, you can’t ask for anything more. It’s just spectacular.”

Morrison was more than spectacular in the Solon’s 83-80 double-overtime win over Western Christian in the semifinals. He exploded for 34 points, including the game-winning 3-pointer.

The Northern Iowa signee averaged 17 points, 4.9 assists and 4.9 steals.

Wentzien, a 6-7 post, added 12.7 points and 8.3 rebounds per game.

Bohannon helped Linn-Mar advance to the state tournament for the sixth straight year — the Lions (23-3) were 4A runners-up to Ames.

An Air Force Academy recruit, the 6-7 forward averaged 19.4 points and 9.2 rebounds per game and led the team in assists and steals while shooting 57 percent from the floor and 84 percent from the line.

Shelby helped Marion (20-5) advance to state for the first time since 1952; the Indians fell to Carroll, 56-55, in the quarterfinals.

Shelby averaged 24.1 points per game, including 41 in the Indians’ substate win over Mount Pleasant. He shot 54 percent from the floor, better than 40 percent from 3-point rage.

Ney helped push IMS to state for the fourth time in six years. It placed third to cap a 26-2 campaign.

A 6-4 forward, Ney averaged 19.6 points and 8.1 rebounds per game. He was an all-tournament selection.

Wedemeier (6-8, senior) averaged 20 points and 11 rebounds per game and shot 65 percent from the floor.

West Central finished 19-5.


First Team

Zach Bohannon, 6-7, sr., Linn-Mar

Reece Uhlenhopp, 6-7, sr., Urbandale

Seth Van Deest, 6-9, sr., Bettendorf

Harrison Barnes, 6-6, jr., Ames

Hal Bateman, 5-8, sr., Davenport Central

Jordan Gentry, 6-0, sr., Sioux City East

Chanse Creekmur, 6-6, jr., Marshalltown

Kody Ingle, 6-2, jr., Southeast Polk

Second Team

Tyler Lange, 6-6, sr., Urbandale

Doug McDermott, 6-7, jr., Ames

Gabe Knutson, 6-8, sr., Waukee

Wesley Staten, 6-1, fr., Sioux City West

Jake Hughes, 6-1, sr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy

Nate Hutcheson, 6-7, sr., Linn-Mar

Jaron Nash, 6-7, sr., Waterloo East

Alex Walker, 6-6, sr., Sioux City North

Third Team

Kennan Davis, 6-3, sr., Cedar Rapids Washington

John Lindstrom, 6-3, sr., Pleasant Valley

Malcolm Moore, 6-7, sr., Iowa City High

Taylor Bontrager, 6-0, jr., Iowa City West

Josh Lenz, 6-1, sr., Dubuque Hempstead

Taylor Pollow, 6-0, sr., Sioux City East

Chad Underwood, 6-4, sr., Cedar Rapids Jefferson

Brandon Voss, 5-10, soph., North Scott


First Team

Brennan Cougill, 6-9, sr., Sioux City Heelan (Mr. Iowa Basketball 2009)

Alex Dorr, 6-7, sr., Norwalk

Wes Nordquist, 6-5, sr., Adel ADM

Eric May, 6-5, sr., Dubuque Wahlert

Amry Shelby, 5-10, sr., Marion

Tyler Putz, 6-0, jr., Forest City

Zach McCabe, 6-7, jr., Sioux City Heelan

Michael Murphy, 5-10, sr., Crestwood

Second Team

Jacey Hoegh, 6-4, sr., Atlantic

Daniel Van Kalsbeek, 6-6, sr., MOC-Floyd Valley

Levi Montague, 6-4, sr., Benton Community

Casey Kasperbauer, 6-0, fr., Carroll

Chad Malloy, 6-0, jr., Williamsburg

Michael Kaufman, 5-10, jr., Harlan

Kirk Korver, 6-7, sr., Pella

Grant Wood, 6-4, sr., Creston

Third Team

Jordan Moore, 6-8, sr., New Hampton

Alex Novak, 6-8, sr., Clear Creek-Amana

Nathan Buss, 6-7, jr., Charles City

Eric Jesse, 6-1, sr., Union

Jacob Peterson, 6-2, sr., Norwalk

Kasey Bass, 6-1, sr., Ballard

Blake Haluska, 6-5, jr., Carroll

Sam Elgin, 6-5, sr., Center Point-Urbana


First Team

John Engler, 6-5, sr., Fort Dodge St. Edmond

Eli Groenendyk, 6-5, sr., Pella Christian

Tucker Wentzien, 6-7, sr., Solon

Matt Morrison, 6-0, sr., Solon

Cliff Warner, 5-11, sr., Pella Christian

Trevor Wolterstorff, 6-5, sr., Western Christian

Shawn Keizer, 6-4, sr., Western Christian

Branden Stubbs, 6-2, jr., Des Moines Christian

Second Team

Brett Bengen, 6-4, sr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck

Nick Stromer, 6-4, sr., Garner-Hayfield

Cy Williams, 6-6, sr., Clarinda

Brett Azinger, 6-1, sr., Central Lee

Jason Ostrander, 6-5, sr., Jefferson-Scranton

Jake Shipley, 6-7, sr., West Marshall

Matt Huseman, 6-6, sr., East Sac County

Matt Waters, 6-0, sr., Council Bluffs St. Albert

Third Team

Tommy Yackle, 6-5, jr., Eagle Grove

Zach Brehmer, 5-10, jr., Panorama

Cody Millikin, 6-2, sr., Pekin

Ryan Hoekstra, 6-4, sr., Unity Christian

Matthew Roberts, 5-10, jr., Davis County

Scott Benson, 6-3, sr., Gladbrook-Reinbeck

Joey Flattery, 6-4, sr., Fort Dodge St. Edmond

Trevor Hook, 6-5, jr., Grundy Center


First Team

Jordan Dykstra, 6-9, jr. Rock Valley

Marcus Heemstra, 6-9, jr., Rock Valley

Tyler Betz, 6-4, sr., Ventura

Jesse Ney, 6-4, sr., Iowa Mennonite

Zach Leeper, 6-4, sr., Adair-Casey

Tory McDowell, 6-1, sr., Ackley AGWSR

Tyler Wedemeier, 6-8, sr., West Central

Ryan Powers, NA, jr., Calamus-Wheatland

Second Team

Colt Robinson, 6-4, sr., Dunkerton

Ryan Focht, 6-5, sr., Villisca

Eddie Diemer, 6-6, jr., Cedar Falls NU High

Michael Webb, 5-10, sr., Corning

Brandon Wood, 6-1, jr., Rockford

Chris Kirk, 6-2, sr., Burlington Notre Dame

Josh VanderMaten, 6-1, jr., Boyden-Hull

Ryan Stumbo, 6-3, sr., Laurens-Marathon

Third Team

Scott Blome,  6-6, sr., HLV

Josh Harris, 6-5, sr., Adair-Casey

Michael Otken, 6-4, sr., Akron-Westfield

Austin Vande Vegte, 6-4, sr., Rock Valley

T.J. Van Dyke, 6-1, jr., Madrid

Wyatt Hanus, 6-2, sr., North Tama

Tim Schweitzer, 6-6, jr., Bedford

Brady Oldag, 6-6, sr., Preston




One Response to “INA all-state boys basketball 2009”

  1. INA all-state boys basketball 2009 | Says:

    […] Read full article DES MOINES — The question was posed to Coach Brad Randall in the moments following Solon’s win over Pella Christian in the Class 2A state championship game. […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: