Stokes makes the team

Kiah Stokes said she felt “timid and shy” during tryouts for the USA Basketball 16-and-under national team.

“I think I could have done more,” said the sophomore from Linn-Mar High School.

Evidently, she did plenty.

Stokes was named Sunday to the 12-girl team that will represent the USA in the 2009 FIBA Americas Championship for Women at a site and time to be announced.

“I think the committee did a wonderful job,” said Coach Barbara Nelson. “We have 12 exceptional young ladies. Wonderful, very smart, very high basketball IQ, and I think that will allow us to do some great things.”

Kiah Stokes

Kiah Stokes

The team practices through Thursday at Colorado Springs, Colo., the players return home.

Stokes said she “was so excited” when her name was called. Thirty-four players were bidding for 12 spots.

“I was just hoping to hear my name. I really didn’t know who else made the team. I was just worried about myself.”

Stokes is a 6-foot-3 post. She averaged 15.6 points, 12.8 rebounds and 6.4 blocks per game as Linn-Mar went 24-1 and reached the Class 4A state semifinals last season.

She said she didn’t get much of a sense Sunday what her role will be on the USA team.

“I’m not the biggest or the strongest, so I’m not exactly sure,” she said. “I am willing to do whatever Coach Nelson asks.”

Tags: , ,

One Response to “Stokes makes the team”

  1. Stokes makes the team | IowaPrepSports.com Says:

    […] Read full article […]

Leave a Reply

